Exploring New Places: A 2015 Resolution Progress Report

Since it’s now September, and we’re closer to the end of the year than the beginning, I thought maybe it would be a good time to get caught up on some posts I’ve allowed to linger, partially written and beggin’ to be wrapped up. So… bear with me as I play catch-up. Grab an iced coffee (or, even better, a vodka tonic – because that sounds way more fun right about now) and enjoy!

…………

A 2015 Resolution-Thingy

I’m generally not the person who makes resolutions for any upcoming year.  In fact, I usually snicker as I witness the endless barrage of social media posts announcing all the well-intentioned resolutions being set for the new year.  “Suckers!”, I think to myself (or say out loud).  So, I’m just as surprised as anyone else might be that I actually fell for the tradition this year. I did. Big time.  **Let’s all say it together, now: “Sucker!”**  Because, you see, I needed a goal.  A real one that would challenge me on a near daily basis (and one that did not involve weight loss or eating loads of raw kale). I knew it needed to be a goal I would strive to accomplish since it was both challenging and exciting, as well as reduce my desire for more vodka tonics.  Although, come to think of it, I could have set the challenge to include vodka tonics.  Just a thought.  Now, back to my story…

To kickstart my resolution/goal identification, I sat down, pen in hand and notebook open, to jot down some ideas about what I wanted from 2015.  Again, cliché, I know.  But this was my process of digging in to what some of my dreams and goals would be for the following twelve months.  I find it so incredibly easy to get caught up in the day-to-day routine of life that after a while it can all feel very stagnant.  The problem has been that by the time I realize I’m focusing more on the Shoulds, and allowing my Musts to get shoved to the back-end of a dark closet somewhere (along with my Beverly Hills High book collection), I’m already a bit cranky and slighlty challenging to live with.  No one has asked me to put anything on hold.  I just do.  Because I think I should.  Ugh, should.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/14c/68264719/files/2015/01/img_2979.jpgAfter much jotting, crossing out and re-jotting, I focused in on my one big personal challenge for the year.  Here it is in one word: EXPLORE.  Explore new places.  Explore new opportunities. Explore and see where it may lead. Explore. Just, explore.

People at the beach

With the year’s main goal proclaimed, our first adventure was a spontaneous day trip to Stinson Beach. It was a new place for us to explore. Part of Hwy 1 was closed, forcing us to take a slight mountain detour route.  We drove the winding road through Mt. Tamalpais, realizing how much we lucked out with this gorgeous day in January.  The crisp blue skies and radiant sunshine only further enhanced the mountain and sea views along the way.  The sharp reflection coming off the Pacific Ocean was an eye-squinting affair that required us to give our corneas a break by looking away.  It was as if our heads couldn’t handle all this day was handing us.  So we kept coming back for more, taking it all in doses.Stinson Beach, CA

Once at the beach, Isaac played in the sand and threw the football with Oscar.  I snapped photos and helped Isaac dig his way to China.  We took in the ocean air and got a healthy dose of Vitamin D.

Stinson Beach, California

geographically speaking blog wordpressdad and son at beach pictureStinson Beach, lifeguard towerPicture of seagull at beach

Driving home, I realized how much we all needed this adventure.  It was a break from the regular.  The energy in the car was different – there was a sense of rejuvenation and calm.   Each time I travel I feel energized and motivated to continue seeking more opportunities for adventure.  Since January, when I first began writing this post (eek!), I have made a more conscious effort to actively seek opportunities for exploration.  Sometimes these places have been very close to home. Other times they’ve required some planning and travel arrangements.  But they’ve all facilitated growth, in one way or another.  And that’s really what it’s all about, right?  Constantly growing and learning about ourselves and our world.  Well, that sounds pretty enough so I’m sticking with it.

Picture of moon in daylight

One thing I have learned over the past few months is this: unless I actively seek the opportunities I want, nothing is going to change.  Nothing.  So, I’ve been actively seeking.  Even when I’ve stumbled along the way, and it’s happened more than once, I’ve been reminded by the good people around me to get up, dust off and get back to it.  So I do.  Which keeps me motivated to keep moving. And thus momentum builds.  And that, my friends, is definitely what it’s all about!

Here are a few pics from our other adventures…

Sacramento River Zen Rocks

There were local adventures close by…

Upper Bidwell North Rim hike, geographically speaking blog

There was a much-needed weekend getaway…

Fort Bragg Coast

There was baseball…

#resolution2015explore

And NASCAR…

NASCAR at Sonoma Raceway

Sonoma Raceway Carneros RaceNASCAR Racing, Sonoma Raceway, geographically speaking blog

There was a sandy adventure…

Oregon Sand Dunes, geographically speaking blog

And a stinky one (Sulfur Works, Lassen Nat’l Park)…

Sulfur Works, Lassen National Park

And a national park expedition…

Lassen Volcanic Nat'l Park, geographically speaking blog

There was a trip back in time to Columbia State Historic Park

Old Stagecoach at Columbia State Park, geographically speaking blog

And some good ol’ reminiscing in Jamestown

Jamestown Hotel, geographically speaking blog

And the exploring continues.

Explore. Dream. Discover. a Mark Twain Quote, geographically speaking blog

Leave a Reply

